Digital District Repository Detail | Digital District Repository | History Corner | Azadi Ka Amrit Mahotsav, Ministry of Culture, Government of India

Digital District Repository Detail

Dr. S.K. Sinha

Munger (Monghyr), Bihar

January 05, 2022 to January 31, 2022

“Bihar Kesari” Dr. Sri Krishna Sinha was born on 21 October, 1887 in his maternal grandfather’s house, Khanwa. He got his early education in his village school, and later in Zilla School, Monghyr, where the gradually emerged as a promising student leader. At Monghyr, by the Ganges, he vowed to work relentlessly and without respite to free India from the English. Dr. Sri Krishna completed his education in Patna University. He started practicing law in 1915, but gave it up in 1921 to take active part in Mahatma Gandhi’s non co-operation movement. As the echoes of his voice spread around Bihar, people began calling him “Bihar Keshari”.

Sri Krishna Babu first went to jail in 1922. He underwent different terms of imprisonment for a total of about eight years. In 1930, Sri Babu played an important role in “Namak Satyagrah” at Garhpura. During arrest he suffered severe scalding and injuries to his hands and chest.

Under the Act of 1935, Sri Babu formed his Cabinet in Patna on 20 July, 1937. He disagreed with the Governor on the issue of the release of political prisoners and resigned. The Governor had to give in finally and Sri Krishna Babu resumed his office. But he again resigned in 1939 over the question of involving India in the Second World War without the consent of the Indian people. Impressed by this courage of Dr. Sinha, Mahatma Gandhi in 1940, awarded him the distincting of being called “the first Satyagrahi” of Bihar.

As the Chief Minister, Dr. Sri Krishna Sinha served Bihar continuously from 1946 to 1961. He was always interested in self study and his ideas and speeches were noted for their wisdom. He was a staunch opponent of casteism and always rose in defence of the oppressed, the backward and the Harijans.

He passed away on 31 January, 1961.

Source: Information Brochure of Commemorative Postage Stamp issued by Department of Posts.